All About VAMK


Vaasan ammattikorkeakoulu VAMK, University of Applied Sciences, started its operation as a temporary polytechnic on 1st of August 1996 and was based on five institutions: Vaasa Institute of Technology, Vaasa Commercial College, Vaasa College of Hotel and Restaurant Services, Vaasa College of Health Care and Vaasa College of Household and Social Services.

Soon after these institutions were combined into three: Vaasa Institute of Technology, Vaasa Institute of Business Economics and Tourism and Vaasa Institute of Health Care and Social Services. The operation was given a permanent license to form a unified University of Applied Sciences.

These institutions have remarkable individual traditions prior to merger: business education has a history of over 100 years of in Vaasa. Training experts in technology in Vaasa has been provided for over 150 years whereas training experts in health care has been provided for 25 years. Apart from the Institute of Technology, the other two institutes were separated into VAMK (by the name Vaasa Polytechnic) and colleges of secondary education in connection with receiving the permanent licence on 1 August 1999.

Today VAMK has three educational faculties, two units for student and administrative services as well as a unit for applied research and development.  The strengths of VAMK are multidisciplinary, multilingual and international education with a good expertise in high technology, international business and tourism as well as highly developed health care and social services in accordance to the institutions renowned educational history.

From the beginning of 2010, VAMK has been operating as a limited liability company. Vaasan ammattikorkeakoulu VAMK Ltd, University of Applied Sciences is owned by the city of Vaasa, University of Vaasa, Regional Council of Ostrobothnia and Ostrobothnia Chamber of Commerce.